FM Es opening 7/6/17 into MS

Rinse and repeat.  In what is becoming a fashionable trend this year, Sporadic E stopped by only for minutes on July 7 before disappearing.  This largely contrasts with reports online of sustained top-of-the-band FM Es in neighboring states.  In my car near my home at 7:31 PM, I received RDS from relog 89.1 WPAS for about 15 seconds before the signal disappeared.  The skip then reappeared about 30 minutes later, with an unidentified religious signal on 89.1, and an unknown oldies station on 92.1.  This second ‘dip’ into FM lasted for about two minutes before going away.  These signals, albeit short-lived, were also both fairly strong–the 92.1 overpowerd weak tropo from nearby Richmond, VA’s 92.1 WCDX.

The only good thing about the opening is that the later signals from 89.1 and 92.1 were heard indoors–the first skip opening with my new indoor Yagi antenna array.  While using rabbit ears indoors most of this skip season, hearing skip-reflected signals indoors was almost impossible.  It was refreshing to hear the characteristic “fade in/fade out/fade in” of skip on two separate frequencies using a more robust antenna, and it shows me that my radios actually work.  Maybe this means I’ll get *one* sustained, workable opening before the skip season ends at the end of this month.

I added the below screenshot to my RDS/HD Radio Screenshots page.


89.1 WPAS Pascagoula, MS, 847 miles

