New LPTV on channel 6 / 87.7 FM received

In a totally unexpected turn of events, I received the first new TV station in almost 4 years — without a TV.  As you may know, analog TV 6 is about 87.75 FM.  After the 2009 DTV transition, many major markets gained an LPTV station on these frequencies, Washington, DC included.  Over time, many of them converted their audio to FM stereo, often also with RDS.  DC’s 87.7 WDCN-LP does just this.

WDCN’s signal is very weak at my home.  I was trying to fine tune reception during a minor tropo opening on June 11.  Unexpectedly, I received another station over WDCN, WNDC-LP from Salisbury, MD.  Since this is technically a TV station, my TV Log have been updated with this new station.  I also decided to list 87.7 FM signals in my FM Log since they are, for all intents and purposes, received and operate as FM signals, but they are only counted as TV stations in my totals.  My Audio section was also updated with WNDC’s clip below.


87.7 WNDC-LP Salisbury, MD, 83 miles

