First-time HD Radio and RDS decodes from many regional stations received

May 31 and June 1 have been phenomenal regional tropo days in Northern Virginia.  Although the radio dial didn’t expand too far beyond the usual 100-mile range for typical signals, the quality of signals within that range increased stronger than usual to the point where I received HD Radio or RDS for the first time from previously-logged stations.  HD Radio decoded from Baltimore-area 89.7 WTMD and 95.9 WWIN for the first time since I added IBOC capabilities to my shack in 2008, received right over local 89.7 W209BY and semi-local 95.9 WGRQ, respectively.  WTMD was a surprise, as I was unaware that they broadcasted IBOC.  Longtime tropo signals 101.7 WKWI and 104.9 WIGO from Virginia’s Northern Neck also came in with RDS for the first time.  Although the highlights are below, I added 18 more screenshots from other stations to my RDS/HD Radio Screenshots page.


89.7 WTMD Towson, MD, 61 miles


95.9 WWIN Glen Burnie, MD, 52 miles


101.7 WKWI Kilmarnock, VA, 80 miles


104.9 WIGO White Stone, VA, 82 miles

