RDS received from DC-area pirate on 98.1

I recently wrote about a pirate FM station that can be heard in the Washington, DC suburbs of Oxon Hill, MD.  It airs a classic hits format and is called “98-1 The Fox.” I’ve finally confirmed that the station runs RDS.


98.1 PIRATE 5/5/17, car radio in Springfield, VA.

Since my initial logging of the station last month, I’ve noticed that “The Fox” airs only in the late afternoon/evening hours and not in the morning, save for one day in the past week where it was heard during both my morning and evening commute.  As the pirate station’s signal is very weak, it is of no concern in terms of DXing.  Even though the station has minimal imaging, it is amusing to listen to, as the station sounds much like a legal FM signal, save for the lack of local positioning, DJs, and a lot of dry segues between songs.  Before one song, the station randomly inserted a pre-recorded liner that said the current temperature.

The screenshot above from this station has been added to my RDS and HD Radio Screenshots page.

