UPDATED: New LPFM WJPN-LP signs on in Prince William, VA

etwnUPDATED 5/28/16: It seems that WJPN-LP is off-air.  For the past two days, 106.3 FM has been occupied by W292EC instead of WJPN-LP, both at home and in my car within a few miles.  Perhaps they don’t run 24/7/365?

While doing a routine dial scan tonight, I found a new LPFM on my radio dial, 106.3 WJPN-LP Prince William, VA, at 6 miles, 35 watts.  The station rebroadcasts the EWTN religious radio network and puts in a local-grade signal at my home.  Before WJPN’s sign-on, 106.3 was previously occupied by a translator, W292EC Gainesville, VA @ 14 miles, 80 watts.  W292EC put in a listenable, but weak signal that was great for DXing purposes.  Before W292EC signed on in 2013, 106.3 FM was an open frequency.

I have updated my DX Log and Local FM Stations pages to reflect this new logging.

